• April 30, 2022

Rohit Sharma vs Virat Kohli : Who Has The X-factor In The Indian T20 League?

Rohit Sharma vs Virat Kohli : Who Has The X-factor In The Indian T20 League?

Rohit Sharma vs Virat Kohli

Once upon a time, Indian cricket use to dish out stalwarts after stalwarts such as Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and so on.

However, in the current era, the landscape has changed as the likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have emerged as the two stalwarts of the Indian cricket team.

The two batting icons have represented Indian team and also been part of every single season of the Indian T20 League since its inauguration in 2008.

Virat Kohli recently left the onus of the Indian Team’s captain both in white and red ball cricket. Furthermore, he even denounced himself for his team, Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The two have enjoyed far greater success on the national front but have been on different sides of the pillars when it comes to the much coveted.

Virat Kohli has been associated with the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) since it’s inception but has failed to win any such silverware with them ever since.

However, it’s all the opposite for Rohit Sharma who has played with the now defunct, Deccan Chargers before moving to his homeside, Mumbai Indians.

But the question remains – Who has the X-factor  Virat Kohli or Rohit Sharma when it comes to Indian T20 League cricket? We dissect below –

Virat Kohli in Indian T20 League

Batting could have been Virat Kohli’s middle name! Well, we’re not joking as the Delhi-born cricketer sits atop the run-scorers chart with 6402 runs at an average of 36.58 and a strike rate of 130.

READ ALSO  Rajasthan Royals Captain List for Indian Premier League 2022

The ‘Run Machine’ has a phenomenal record with the bat with 5 centuries & 42 half-centuries in the Indian T20 league. Virat is the only player in the history of Indian t20 league to have amassed over 6000 runs. He is also the fastest to reach the target of 5000 runs in the league.

Moreover, he also holds the record of scoring the most amount of runs (973) in the 2016 season for the RCB where he averaged a whopping 81.08.

That season he won the Orange Cap as the Delhi dasher scored 7 fifties and 4 centuries.

However, that record looks on the verge of getting beaten with Englishman Jos Buttler already on the road to overtake Kohli’s record in the ongoing season.

Rohit Sharma in Indian T20 League-

The current Indian Team skipper, Rohit Sharma is third on the list of all-time scorers in the Indian t20 league with 5764 runs at an average of 30.66 and strike rate of 130.29.

Rohit is the only player to score 1000-plus runs against a single opposition (KKR) in the Indian t20 league.

He has hit over 400 sixes in the T20 format and remains the only player to score a ton and scalp a hat-trick (with Deccan Chargers) in the Indian t20 league.

The Mumbai Indians skipper is also recorded himself by scoring 400+ runs in 7 seasons of the Indian t20 league. Only southpaw Suresh Raina has had more seaons with 400-plus runs than Rohit.

Despite their records doing all the talk, their success as captains has seen only man dominate over the other.

READ ALSO  Chronicle Centuries that left a mark

Rohit Sharma’s success with Mumbai Indians is nothing new with 5 titles whereas Virat Kohli is still looking to land his side their first ever Indian t20 league championship.


With both the batters doing all the talk with their respective bats, it seems that Rohit Sharma is in the ascendency when it comes to having an ‘X-factor’ over his compatriot.

In 129 matches as skipper, Rohit Sharma accounts to 75 matches played, losing 50 and has seen 4 end in a tie.

Whereas Virat has captained in 140 matches, winning 64, losing 69, three were ties and four were N/R.

However, both the batters have been struggling for runs off late in the ongoing t20 season and it remains to be seen how the two batting greats claw themselves back in the reckoning and take their teams towards measurable success.