• March 29, 2022

All You Need To Know About The New IPL 2022 Format and Rules

All You Need To Know About The New IPL 2022 Format and Rules

New IPL 2022 Format and Rules

The 2022 season of Indian Premier League is already underway, and it is already living up to all the hype.

With the COVID restrictions setting in, the Indian cricket board has stated that all the league games will be played in Mumbai & Pune.

Also, with 2 new teams coming into the fray, the IPL 2022 will see 10 teams play for the first time since the tourney came into existence.

74 League matches will be played with 4 play-off games included. But all the talk that has been is of the new rules and the format that has been introduced.

Previous seasons saw maximum 8 teams take the stage but now two new teams introduced, the competition has got fiercer. Below we state the new IPL 2022 format and rules of the ongoing IPL season.

New IPL 2022 format:

The new IPL 2022 format might be new for some but if cricket fanatics brainstorm their minds, they will know a familiar format was used back in the 2011 season.

The 2011 season saw ten teams in the fray and loads of league games.

Here’s how the new format for the ongoing 2022 IPL season looks like:

  • A total of 10 teams will be divided into two groups of five.
  • Prior to group, a random draw was run to determine which team will be pooled with which another team. It will also reveal which pooled team will play who and which other side.
  • In the League stage, each franchise will play a total of 14 games and will face the other four teams in their group twice (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times.
  • A winning team will be awarded 2 points for their side’s victory whereas the losing side will not be rewarded any. In case of a draw or N/A, both sides will be awarded a point each.
  • A four-game playoff stage will follow post the league stage concludes. Four games will be played in the playoffs:
  • Qualifier 1 will see the teams that finished the League table in the 1st and 2nd position, respectively.
  • In an Eliminator, teams that finished 3rd and 4th in the League table, will vie for final position.
  • Qualifier 2 sees the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator go head-to-head.
  • The Final will see the winner of Qualifier 1 and winner of Qualifiers 2.

Whoever comes out as the Winner, this would mean really special as this season has seen new teams, new format and new rules enter the dimension.

READ ALSO  Who is the King of IPL?

What are the New IPL 2022 format and Rules?

With the new format, comes the new rules too! The IPL board has brought some new changes to the IPL format and thus, giving it a fresh impetus as well.

The 2022 IPL tournament has already seen 2 new teams but with the fresh rules too making the cut, makes this current season all more exciting and interesting.

Here’s how the new rules look:

  • The Indian Premier League 2022 will allow teams to have two DRS calls in each innings.
  • When a player is out via a catch dismissal, regardless of whether the batter has crossed or not, the incoming batter will have to take the strike, except if it’s the penultimate ball of the over.
  • Just like in the football leagues, if any of the teams fail to field a playing XI due to COVID-19, the cricketing board will allow the team/s to reschedule the game to an appropriate date.
  • However, if the rescheduling doesn’t fit in the playing calenda, then the IPL Technical Team will investigate it further and take a final call.

Read: Who is the Best Player in IPL?


With the aforementioned format and rules setting in, the new IPL 2022 season promises to be a fun-filled affair.

What makes it more exciting are the new players, new teams and extra games added to the format.

Gone are the days when a certain team will be called as ‘favourite’ prior to the tournament as this time, it will be more tight finishes and super-overs could decide who takes the title of the 2022 IPL Champion!

Disclaimer – The above article is for informational purpose only. We at AIO Games are nowhere related to BCCI or the IPL