• April 29, 2022

Most Centuries in Indian T20 League

Most Centuries in Indian T20 League

Centuries in Indian T20 League

The Indian T20 League centuries list contains 70 hundreds that have been scored in the tournament since its inception in 2008.

The Indian T20 League is one of the most exciting sporting tournaments drawing millions of eyes each year.

Team Rajasthan, under the leadership of Shane Warne, was crowned the champion in its inaugural season when it beat Team Chennai by 3 wickets.

T20, as a competition, is often seen as a batsman’s game and the records are there for everyone to see.

Runs are scored in heaps in the league every season as well as new records established, thanks to the competitive nature of the format.

The first century came in the first match of the Indian T20 League when Brendon McCullum smashed 158* for Team Kolkata.

Unfortunately, no other player has scored another century in the tournament’s 15-year run for Kolkata.

Let us deep dive and relive a few of these centuries in Indian T20 League and records –

Most Centuries in Indian T20 League

Chris Gayle, a.k.a. Universal Boss holds the record for most centuries scored in the Indian T20 League.

Out of the 6 hundreds scored, his highest tally, 175*, came against the now-defunct Team Pune in 2013.

Virat Kohli, Gayle’s former team mate, with 5 centuries to his name, sits in the second spot.

Speaking of most hundreds in the Indian T20 League, Team Bangalore leads the count in this department with 14 – 5 by Chris Gayle, 5 by Virat Kohli, 3 AB de Villers, and 1 by Manish Pandey. Team Punjab is one century behind with 13.

Fastest Century in Indian T20 League

West Indian cricketer Chris Gayle dominates this record, too.

The Chris Gayle century against Team Pune came in just 30 balls, a record that is yet to be broken in the tournament. This record, again, is the best across all T20 competitions.

Gayle took 17 deliveries to bring his half-century and just 13 balls to convert it into a hundred. His innings comprised 13 fours and 17 sixes.

That match also recorded the highest team total in the Indian T20 League as Bangalore scored 263-5, another record that remains unmatched to this day.

First Indian T20 League Century by an Indian Player

Although Virat Kohli has the most Indian T20 League centuries by an Indian, he was not the first countryman to register a hundred.

The first century by an Indian player came from Manish Pandey in 2009, which is also his only century in the tournament, when he scored an unbeaten 114 against Team Hyderabad.

Playing for Bangalore and opening with Jacques Kallis, Pandey hit 10 fours and 4 sixes to etch his name in the history books.

Manish Pandey is one of the few cricketers who have played in the Indian T20 League since its commencement in 2008. Till date, he has scored 3626 runs.

With the tournament being contested closely each passing year, viewers can only expect the yearly tournament to get bigger.

It is also noteworthy that the 70 centuries have come from 39 different batsmen, with 19 of them being Indian cricketers.

Jos Buttler was the last batsman to score a hundred, which came against Team Kolkata. It was the English batsman’s second century of Indian T20 League 2022 and his third overall.

As the tournament heats up, viewers can expect a few more blazing innings from domestic as well as overseas players.

READ ALSO  Daily Fantasy Cricket Can Make you Earn Real Cash


As the tournament heats up, the onus will be on the batters to perform goods against some quality bowling in the ongoing Indian T20 League.

The likes of Jos Buttler, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav amongst others are capable of crossing the three-figure mark.

However, the bowling in this tourney has been of utmost quality and we will have to see as to who comes out on top.

With fantasy cricket at its fervour, you must think which app could be the ideal choice? AIO Games!

Yes, All-In-One Games where you can play your favourite match/league and win lakhs of rupees!