• December 2, 2021

Who Retained Who In The Indian T20 League Retention 2022

Who Retained Who In The Indian T20 League Retention 2022

What is the Indian T20 League Retention?

The Indian cricket board or formerly called as the BCCI has their roots ingrained in the Indian Domestic T20 League. The cricket bigwigs at the Indian cricket board have carved out their own rules and guidelines for the mega auction as well as the retention.

So, for the coming season (2022) each franchise of the Indian T20 League will be presented with a total salary purse of Rs 90 crore, which will be improved from Rs. 85 crores for the 2021 edition.

Here’s how the Indian T20 League Retention works:

  • Each of the current franchises in the Indian T20 League have been given the option to lock up to four of their current players. They can either secure four players or can vouch for a completely new squad.
  • Given the various nationalities that represent in the Indian T20 league, each franchise can retain players with a maximum of 3 representing India (capped or uncapped), maximum of 2 overseas & a maximum of two uncapped cricketers.
  • So, if an existing franchise decides to retain four of its players, their total salary deduction from the auction purse will be Rs. 42 crores. The first player on the list will earn Rs. 16 crores, the second receives Rs 12 crore, the third Rs. 8 crore and fourth will pocket up to Rs. 6 crores.
  • In a scenario wherein a franchise opts for three player retentions, then a total sum of Rs. 33 crores will be deducted from that franchise’s auction purse.
  • The first player retained will bag up to Rs. 15 crores, the second will receive Rs. 11 crore & the third will bag Rs. 7 crores.
  • In a situation wherein a franchise or franchises bats for two retentions, the total amount of money that will be subtracted from their auction purse will come down to Rs. 24 crores. The first player will pocket up to Rs. 14 crores whereas the second one is in line to receive Rs. 10 crores.
READ ALSO  Indian T20 League 2022 - Updated Squads for the New Season

Read – How to Play Fantasy Cricket on AIO Games

  • If there’s only a single player retention, then the franchise will have to bear the cost of Rs. 14 crores of their total auction salary purse.
  • Teams that opt to retain their uncapped players might have a slight advantage going in the auction as each uncapped player will cost Rs. 4 crores.
  • The Right To Match (RTM) card will not be available for the upcoming 2022 mega auction as it will be slightly unfair on the new franchises.

The much-coveted Indian T20 League recently held the player retention that saw a total of 27 franchise cricketers, including eight internationals and four uncapped ones, being retained by the existing franchises during the event that was held recently.

There were some key players let go that raised a few eyebrows but also some retained by their respective franchise as the focus now shifts on the auction.

Here’s a look at the current franchises’ retained list and the ones that were let go –


The five-time champions decided to retain skipper Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav and Kieron Pollard.


The MS Dhoni-led side also saw some high-profile names being released whereas the likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad and the skipper himself have been retained.


With Virat Kohli no more at the helm and AB de Villiers announcing his retirement, RCB have released a few ‘big’ names ahead of the auction.


The two-time winners have retained the likes of Andre Russell & Sunil Narine. They have also backed young stars Varun Chakravarthy and Venkatesh Iyer. Surprisingly, there was no room for skipper Eoin Morgan and Shubman Gill.

READ ALSO  A Guide On How To Win Huge Cash In Fantasy Cricket


The Delhi-based side have also raised a few eyebrows with some key retentions and releases from their elite squad. Ponting & co. have retained the likes of Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw and Anrich Nortje.


The inaugural champions have retained Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal. It remains to be seen what strategy the RR think-tank employs in the upcoming auction.


The Hyderabad side made no surprise in letting David Warner go but the biggest name was of Rashid Khan who wasn’t retained. SRH have retained the services of Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad and Umran Malik.


Indian batting icon KL Rahul remains one of the key names to be released by the Punjab side. They have retained the likes of Mayank Agarwal and uncapped left-arm seamer Arshdeep Singh in their side.

When is the Auction? 

There’s no official word out from the Indian board regarding the date for the auction. However, according to inside sources within the board have revealed that it might take place in the first week of January 2022. It remains to be seen which overseas and domestic stars will go under the hammer and to which team/s.