• July 2, 2022

How Many Cricket World Cups India have Won?

How Many Cricket World Cups India have Won?

Cricket World Cup Won by India

It’s no secret that the ICC Cricket World Cup is cricket’s biggest tournament and it is every cricketer’s aspiration to get their hands on that shiny trophy.

Having their names etched as one of the members of the World Cup winning team can catapult a player to unprecedented heights.

Knowing how much cricket is revered in India, a question that is often asked by new generations is how many world cup India won in ICC Cricket.

Well, the short answer is 3, with Team India winning the cricket world cup trophy in 1983, 2007 and 2011 across different formats.

We shall dig into a few riveting stories and incidents that set up the stage for some of the most exciting moments featuring Team India in World Cup cricket.

Let’s see How many times India won world cup?

1983 Cricket World Cup

Officially called the ’83 Prudential Cup, the tournament was held from June 9 with the finals played on 25th of the same month in England and Wales.


West Indies had won the previous two editions of the World Cup, in 1975 and 1979, and were seen as immediate winners considering the dominant reputation they brought.

India, on the other hand, were said to be nowhere in contention, having performed poorly in the previous World Cups; winning just one match out of six across two competitions was said to be the reason.

Sandeep Patil, one of the key members of that squad, famously wrote in 2015 that the players were “virtually in a holiday mood, with cricket not being the first thing on their mind”.

Kapil Dev at the Helm

Kapil Dev was handed the responsibility of captaining the team despite not being one of the senior players.

Years later, he recounted how the tournament would not have been a success without the seniors’ support.

Played as a 60-over ODI format, India faced defending champions West Indies in their first match and to everyone’s surprise, they emerged as victors beating the Clive Lloyd-led team by 34 runs.

READ ALSO  Do we literally know the free hit rule? Know now!

This served as a major boost for Kapil Dev’s men as they lost just 2 out of their 6 Group Stage matches to make their way into the semi-finals.

In their penultimate match of the tournament, India battled hosts England continuing their good run beating them by 6 wickets.

West Indies, in their semi-finals match, toppled Pakistan registering their hattrick of World Cup final entries.

Losing the toss, India were put into bat in the final of the Prudential Cup with the Lord’s pitch serving as a bowler’s paradise.

India folded for 183 runs in what appeared to be a cakewalk victory for the West Indies, thanks to Viv Richards playing some fiery cricket of late.

Indian bowlers had other plans, as the turned the tables on Clive Lloyd and Co. with Mohinder Amarnath and Madan Lal claiming 3 scalps each to restrict them for 140 runs and winning the trophy in the process.

This World Cup won by India inspired many modern day cricket greats, including the Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar.

Kapil Dev’s stats in the tournament read 303 runs and 12 wickets.

Other Key Contributors

  • Roger Binny – 18 wickets
  • Yashpal Sharma – 240 runs
  • Madan Lal – 17 wickets
  • Mohinder Amarnath – 237 runs & 8 wickets

Read – 5 Reasons Why Indian Loves Online Game

2007 ICC World T20

The 2007 ICC World Twenty20 was the inaugural World Cup tournament featuring 20 overs per side and was held in South Africa from September 11 to September 24.


2007 carried a mixed bag of emotions for Indian Cricket and its fans worldwide.

Preceding the T20 World Cup was the 50-over World Cup in West Indies where the team led by Rahul Dravid had displayed subpar performance, getting ousted in the Group Stages.

T20 cricket at the international stage was not an established format and was only catching on when the inaugural edition of the World Cup was announced.

READ ALSO  5 Most Dangerous Batsmen In IPL

Post their performance in the 50-over format, many Indian senior players refused to travel to South Africa for the shortened format, leaving BCCI to select a band of young players with MS Dhoni leading the charge.

MS Dhoni at the Helm

The young Indian brigade faced Pakistan and Scotland in the group stages, winning both matches, which included a bowl-out against the arch-rivals.

The Super 8 stage saw India grouped with New Zealand, South Africa and England. Dhoni and Co. won two matches losing the one against the Kiwis.

The match against England saw Yuvraj Singh blow the roof off of the stadium by hitting six 6s in an over against Stuart Broad; the innings also saw him score the fastest T20I fifty by a player.

Heading into the knockouts, India faced its toughest battle yet, versus the Australians. Yuvraj Singh produced another blitzkrieg scoring a 30-ball 70. India headed into the final with Australia falling short by 15 runs.

MS Dhoni’s decision-making at key positions in the match was lauded by the pundits and audience alike, but he saved his best for the last.

With Pakistan looking like bringing the trophy home, Dhoni threw the ball to Joginder Sharma, who arguably produced his best bowling spell to turn the match in favour of the Men in Blue.

India beat Pakistan in the final by 5 runs.

MS Dhoni contributed 154 runs in the tournament.

Other Key Contributors

  • Gautam Gambhir – 227 runs
  • RP Singh – 12 wickets
  • Yuvraj Singh – 148 runs
  • Irfan Pathan – 10 wickets

2011 ICC Cricket World Cup

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was played in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh from February 19 to 2 April. Due to security concerns, Pakistan lost its status to co-host the tournament.


The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup would be played as a 50-over format, and comprise 14 teams as opposed to the traditional 12 teams.

The participants would include 10 full members and 4 associate nations with Canada, Ireland, Kenya, and Netherlands filling the remaining slots through Qualifier matches.

READ ALSO  Chronicle Centuries that left a mark

MS Dhoni at the Helm

By 2011, India had emerged as a powerhouse across all formats under the leadership of MS Dhoni and, with the semi-finals and finals held in India, was clearly one of the top favourites to win the World Cup.

Paired in Group B among the likes of South Africa, England and West Indies, India finished at second place winning 4 games out of 6 and tying one.

The quarter-finals saw India take on Australia. Needing 261 to win, the Men in Blue made light work of the Australians, chasing the total in 47.4 overs with 5 wickets in hand.

In the semi-finals, India took on arch-rivals Pakistan, setting 261 runs as target. The Indian bowlers wreaked havoc with all five bowlers claiming 2 wickets each to restrict Pakistan to 231 runs and making their way into the final.

This India World Cup win, played at the Wankhede Stadium, produced arguably the most iconic image in cricket’s history of MS Dhoni hitting a six off Kulasekara to give India their first 50-over World Cup win in 28 years and their third World Cup overall.

MS Dhoni scored 241 runs in the tournament.

Other Key Contributors

  • Sachin Tendulkar – 482 runs
  • Zaheer Khan – 21 wickets
  • Yuvraj Singh – 362 runs & 15 wickets
  • Gautam Gambhir – 393 runs


So, now you know the answer to the question, how many world cup India won in cricket.

India did make it to the 2014 T20 World Cup final, but suffered defeat at the hands of Sri Lanka by 6 wickets.

India continues to remain a top tier team across all formats and will surely be one of the main title contenders in late 2022 for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

The road is expected to be an exciting one and we can’t wait to see India add another ICC World Cup to their trophy cabinet.